Adventures of the Onion booty Foodie

Embark on my adventures of travel and food

Triple Dog dare you

…to enjoy this dog. I ended up here after a VERY long drive; my one highlight of the day was to try this Washington staple. Oh how disappointed I was. The service was lackluster and they didn’t make me feel very welcome. I asked for their traditional dish, a chilli dog with fries. You would think being ravenously hungry anything would taste good but once I took a bite I had to put it down and desperately search for some well needed condiments. The chilli was so bland, I was in dismay; this is what they’re known for!? Not to mention how dry the fries were. They looked at me funny when I asked for mayo and hot sauce but I’m used to that when I’m anywhere outside of Montreal. Thankfully with the aid of some mayo I was able to endure the dog.

Ben's Chili Bowl on Urbanspoon

2010 DC

3 Comments»

  Greg wrote @

Hi ,

Your first post just appeared on Urbanspoon! Check it out:
http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/7/100543/restaurant/DC/U-Street-Shaw/Bens-Chili-Bowl-Washington

I encourage you to claim your blog, which allows you to add a picture and change some settings. The blog photo shows up next to your posts wherever they appear on Urbanspoon. Here’s how to claim:

- Make sure you’re logged into Urbanspoon

- Go to your blog page on our site: http://www.urbanspoon.com/br/7/7066/DC/Adventures-of-the-Onion-booty-Foodie.html

- Click “Claim your blog” in the left sidebar

After you submit it, we may contact you to verify your claim. Check your spam email folder if your claim hasn’t gone through in a day or two. You’ll also find some interesting badges and widgets on your Urbanspoon blog page – look in the right sidebar.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks,
Greg

http://www.urbanspoon.com

  Zobrown75 wrote @

I agree with you. I am not impressed with Ben’s. I have gone twice to make sure they were not just having a bad day the first time I went. I refuse to go again.

  glutton4gastronomy wrote @

I was just talking to someone recently who lives there and loves the place. Is it just that we were the unlucky ones who happen to walk in on a bad batch? I mean, I’ve tasted stale dog food that was more palatable then their chilli dog; do people really think this is good food?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

